News & Announcements

Ernakulam Crowned Doubles in Senior State 2016-17

Ernakulam won the men and women title in the 15th Kerala State Senior Throwball Championship for men and women 2016-17 which concluded at St. Joseph's English Medium School, Keezhoor, Kottayam on 20th November 2016. I Men's Ernakulam defeated defending champions Kannur in straight sets (15-4 , 16-14) in the second set kannur were leading by 13-9 and from there Ernakulam boys came back with a strong attitude to become the champions. For them it a sweet revencge to the defending champions for the last years men finals. Hardick Selarka, Mohammed Rizwan & Captian Fredaric Joseph (Freddy) were the players who performed marvalously throughout the championship..

In women, Ernakulam had a easy win to claim the K C Philiphose memorial ever rolling throphy by defeating the host district Kottayam and bagged the tittle for the first time (15-3, 15-7) Miss. Razeena A S, Soorya S, Anjitha A D, Nivya K S and Maheshwari N Shetty performed extremely well in the final and through out the championship.

Malappuram men and Kasargode women finished 3rd by defeating Thissur men (15-13, 5-15,15-8) and Thriuvananthapuram women (15-6,15-9) respectively.

Hardick Selarka in men and Raseena A S in women of Ernakulam were selected as the best Players of the championship. Abdul Huck of Malappuram and Anarga Arsha Alexander of Kottayam were annouced as the Promising players.

Kaduthuruthy MLA Sri. Monce Joseph Inaugurated the Closing Ceremony and distributed the trophies and medals to the winning teams. Sri. T K Ibrahim Kutty delivered the Key note address and Adv. N P Muhammed Nizar Chairman Org. committee Presided over the function. Sri. K M Ballal, Secretary Kerala Throwball Association felicitated the winners and participants. Sri. Roby Kurian, staff secretary Welcomed the dignitaries and participants and Sri. Vice Principal, Sri. Lukose P G expressed d gratitude to guests and all who supported and participated and made the championship a grand success.

Sri. Tom Joseph, Arjuna Award winner and former Indian International Volleyball Player inaugurated the championship on 19th November 2016. Sri T K Ibrahimkutty, former Vice President of Kerala State Sports Council and President Kerala Throwball Association chaired the inaugural ceremony. Adv. N P Mohammed Nizar, chairman, Organising committee delivered the introductory note. Smt. Kala Mangattu, Member, District Panchayath and Sr. Softia Manithottil were the Guest of Honor in the Inaugural ceremony. Sri. George Kutty., Panchayath ward member, Sri. Shahul Hameed K M, Member, Throwball Federation of India, Sri. Rasheed K M, PTA representative of St. Jospeh school felicitated the gathering. sri. Vyshak Vinod, captian of Kottayam senior men team took the sports pledge on behalf of all players. Sri. Lukose P G, Vice Principal gave the welcome note and sri. Vinod Kumar A K, Tresurer, Kerala Throwball Association delivered the Vote of Thanks.

Sri. Mohammed Rafi A R, Sri. Koya E, vice presidents of Kerala Throwball Association, Sri. Bobby C Joseph, Sri. Dileep P, Joint Secretaries of K T A, Sri. Sashikantha B G,, secretary Kasargod, Sri. Akhil Anirudhan State Nominee from Thrissur and sri. Sambashivan, President, Thrissur District Throwball Association, Sri. Shijish C V, Secretary, Ernakulam Throwball Association, Smt. Sabira U P, former Vice President of Kerala Throwball Association were present to witness the championship.

23 matches in men and 23 matches in women were held in the two day senior meet in league cum knock out basis. matches were held in the floodlit ground where 2 courts were arranged.
Kerala Men and Women team of 20 probables each were selected for the Kerala camp for representing state in the 39th Senior National Throwball championship which will be held at Delhi from 7th to 10th January 2017.

Sri. P J Joseph, was the Observer for the championship from Kerala State Sports council.

Our valued sponsors.

Sponsors for the 2024-2025.